Skip to main content
analysis

Truancy

Bernadette Wiggins, Truancy Supervisor

Office: 618-332-4149
Cell: 618-973-9675

Fax: 618-332-0255

Truancy Officer Location Office Cell email
John Clay High School (10th) 618-332-4528 618-973-9935 clayj@cusd187.org
Demetrius Combs High School (9th) 618-332-4606 618-304-7485 combsd@cusd187.org
Temekia Coleman High School (11th & 12th) 618-332-4604 618-381-2409 colemant@cusd187.org
DeMario Weeden

8th Grade Academy

Huffman all grades

618-332-6012 618-301-0701 weedend@cusd187.org
Pam Bryant

Oliver Parks 6th Grade Center

Penniman all grades

618-332-5907 618-301-7563 bryantp@cusd187.org
Gloria Ware

7th Grade Academy

Maplewood all grades

618-332-5905 618-806-1775 wareg@cusd187.org
Pat Cross

7th Grade Academy (Home Office) no students at this location

EMorris all grades

ESSC 6th thru 8th grades

618-332-5968 618-974-8513 crossp@cusd187.org
Sherice Haynes

7th Grade Academy (Home Office) no students at this location

Lalumier all grades

ESSC K thru 5th grades

618-332-5991 618-741-5828 hayness@cusd187.org


What is Truancy?

A truant is defined as a child subject to compulsory school attendance and who is absent without valid cause from such attendance for a school day or portion of the day.

STEPS TAKEN TO IMPROVE ATTENDANCE

  1. A three day letter from your child's school documenting unexcused absences.
  2. Home visits / Office visits
  3. A six day letter from the superintendent requiring you to meet with the Local Truancy Review Board for a corrective action plan.
  4. A nine day letter from the R.O.E. requiring guardian to appear at Regional Office of Education for a hearing.
    MUST ATTEND HEARING TO AVOID COURT FINES!!!

 

Truancy often is a symptom of more serious problems.  Enforcing truancy rules starts the intervention process that can assist families in crisis.

CHILDREN MAY BE DEALING WITH:

-Peer Pressure -Separation/Divorce in Family
-Abuse/Neglect -Drugs/Alcohol Abuse by Student/Parent
-Moving Repeatedly -Negative Social Interactions
-Low Self Esteem -Lack of Academic Skills
-Lack of Friends -Financial Problems