Skip to main content
analysis

Truancy

Bernadette Wiggins, Truancy Supervisor

Office: 618-332-5113
Cell: 618-973-9675

Fax: 618-332-5115

Truancy Officer Location Office Cell email
John Clay High School (11th and 12th) 618-332-4528 618-973-9935 clayj@cusd187.org
Demetrius Combs High School (10th) 618-332-4606 618-304-7485 combsd@cusd187.org
Temekia Coleman High School (9th) 618-332-4604 618-381-2409 colemant@cusd187.org
Vincent Goode 8th Grade Academy &
Penniman
618-332-6012 618-610-7561 goodev@cusd187.org
Gloria Ware 7th Grade Academy 618-332-5905 618-806-1775 wareg@cusd187.org
Malori Wofford

Maplewood

618-332-4522 618-806-8905 woffordm@cusd187.org
Nakia Smith Oliver Parks 618-332-5907 618-741-1279 smithn2@cusd187.org
Sherice Haynes

ESSC and Lalumier

618-332-4789 618-741-5828 hayness@cusd187.org
Crystal Grimmett Huffman &
E. Morris
618-332-5953 618-806-6927 grimmettc@cusd187.org


What is Truancy?

A truant is defined as a child subject to compulsory school attendance and who is absent without valid cause from such attendance for a school day or portion of the day.

STEPS TAKEN TO IMPROVE ATTENDANCE

  1. A three day letter from your child's school documenting unexcused absences.
  2. Home visits / Office visits
  3. A six day letter from the superintendent requiring you to meet with the Local Truancy Review Board for a corrective action plan.
  4. A nine day letter from the R.O.E. requiring guardian to appear at Regional Office of Education for a hearing.
    MUST ATTEND HEARING TO AVOID COURT FINES!!!

 

Truancy often is a symptom of more serious problems.  Enforcing truancy rules starts the intervention process that can assist families in crisis.

CHILDREN MAY BE DEALING WITH:

-Peer Pressure -Separation/Divorce in Family
-Abuse/Neglect -Drugs/Alcohol Abuse by Student/Parent
-Moving Repeatedly -Negative Social Interactions
-Low Self Esteem -Lack of Academic Skills
-Lack of Friends -Financial Problems