Skip to main content
analysis

Truancy

Bernadette Wiggins, Truancy Supervisor

Office: 618-332-5113
Cell: 618-973-9675

Fax: 618-332-5115

Truancy Officer Location Office Cell email
Temekia Coleman High School (11th & 12th) 618-332-4604 618-381-2409 colemant@cusd187.org
Kandice Travis High School (10th) 618-332-4528 618-960-8227 travisk@cusd187.org
Demetrius Combs High School (9th) 618-332-4606 618-381-2409 combsd@cusd187.org
Eureka Ware

WMS (8th)

618-332-6012 618-823-7802 waree@cusd187.org
Nakia Smith WMS (7th) 618-332-4789 618-741-1279 smithn2@cusd187.org
Gloria Ware

WMS (6th)/E. Morris

618-332-5709 618-806-1775 wareg@cusd187.org
Sherice Haynes ESSC/Lalumier 618-332-4789 618-741-5828 hayness@cusd187.org
Crystal Grimmett Huffman 618-332-5712 618-806-6927 grimmettc@cusd187.org
Theresa Jackson Penniman 618-332-5608 618-806-8905 jacksont@cusd187.org
John Clay Maplewood 618-332-5110 618-973-9935 clayj@cusd187.org
         


What is Truancy?

A truant is defined as a child subject to compulsory school attendance and who is absent without valid cause from such attendance for a school day or portion of the day.

STEPS TAKEN TO IMPROVE ATTENDANCE

  1. A three day letter from your child's school documenting unexcused absences.
  2. Home visits / Office visits
  3. A six day letter from the superintendent requiring you to meet with the Local Truancy Review Board for a corrective action plan.
  4. A nine day letter from the R.O.E. requiring guardian to appear at Regional Office of Education for a hearing.
    MUST ATTEND HEARING TO AVOID COURT FINES!!!

 

Truancy often is a symptom of more serious problems.  Enforcing truancy rules starts the intervention process that can assist families in crisis.

CHILDREN MAY BE DEALING WITH:

-Peer Pressure -Separation/Divorce in Family
-Abuse/Neglect -Drugs/Alcohol Abuse by Student/Parent
-Moving Repeatedly -Negative Social Interactions
-Low Self Esteem -Lack of Academic Skills
-Lack of Friends -Financial Problems