Skip to main content

School Board

Board Members

Peggy Shelton

Potina Powell

Debra Duncan

Marilyn Stringfellow

Holly Elder

Richard Duncan Sr.

Jaime Tompkin


Vice President






Becker, Hoerner, Thompson, & Ysursa P.C.
Positions elected April 6, 2021


The Cahokia Unit School District Board of Education and the Superintendent of District #187, through an active partnership with its parent and community, will support a system of educational excellence.  Wherein all students graduate and become responsible and competent decision-makers, while learning and growing from a rigorous curriculum in a caring environment that is fiscally sound, appropriately staffed, managed efficiently and improving every year.


The vision of the Cahokia Unit School Board and the Superintendent of District #187 is that all students graduate and have sufficient skills, understanding, and personal characteristics for learning, working, and living fully, including:

Communication competency

  • The ability to apply problem-solving strategies 
  • The ability to use technology for learning and living
  • The ability to respond maturely, respectfully and professionally in all situations

Cahokia Unit School Board and the Superintendent of District #187 aspire for the community, staff, and students to experience ownership of, satisfaction with, and responsibility for the Cahokia Unit School District by participating in open dialogue and approving and supporting sound management.

Board of Education Meetings Calendar