Logo
School Board
District Administration Departments Board Building Directory Curriculum Finance Food Service Health Services Human Resources Maintenance Security Special Education Student Development and Activities Technology Transportation Truancy
Skyward email Youth For Youth Frequently Used Links PARCC Curriculum Recognition District History Summer PD
Camp Invention 2016 Links Skyward
Schools District Events (Calendar) District Sports Weekly Calendar Parent Resources Lighthouse Skyward Proportionate Share Meeting State Immunization PTA
21st Century Parent University
Bryant, Pamela
Truancy
Clay, John
Truancy Officer
Coleman, Temekia
Truancy Officer
Gettis, Byron
Truancy Officer
Ware, Gloria
Truancy
Weeden, DeMario
Truancy Officer
Wiggins, Bernadette
Truancy Supervisor

Truancy

Bernadette Wiggins, Truancy Supervisor

Office: 618-332-4149
Cell: 618-973-9675

Fax: 618-332-0255

 

Truancy Officer Location Office Cell email
John Clay High School (9th) 618-332-4528 618-973-9935 clayj@cusd187.org
Byron Gettis High School (10th) 618-332-4606 618-304-7485 gettisb@cusd187.org
Temekia Coleman High School (11th & 12th) 618-332-4604 618-381-2409 colemant@cusd187.org
DeMario Weeden 8th Grade Academy
ESSC 6th thru 8th grades
Huffman all grades
618-332-6012 618-301-0701 weedend@cusd187.org
Pam Bryant Oliver Parks 6th Grade
Lalumier 2nd and 3rd grades
Penniman all grades
618-332-5991 618-301-7563 bryantp@cusd187.org
Gloria Ware 7th Grade Academy
Maplewood all grades
Lalumier K thru 1st grades
618-332-5905 618-806-1775 wareg@cusd187.org
Demetrius Combs 7th Grade Academy
E. Morris all grades
ESSC K thru 5th grades
618-332-5905 618-975-3992 combsd@cusd187.org

Bold = Home Office


What is Truancy?

A truant is defined as a child subject to compulsory school attendance and who is absent without valid cause from such attendance for a school day or portion of the day.

STEPS TAKEN TO IMPROVE ATTENDANCE

  1. A three day letter from your child's school documenting unexcused absences.
  2. Home visits / Office visits
  3. A six day letter from the superintendent requiring you to meet with the Local Truancy Review Board for a corrective action plan.
  4. A nine day letter from the R.O.E. requiring guardian to appear at Regional Office of Education for a hearing.
    MUST ATTEND HEARING TO AVOID COURT FINES!!!

 

Truancy often is a symptom of more serious problems.  Enforcing truancy rules starts the intervention process that can assist families in crisis.

CHILDREN MAY BE DEALING WITH:

-Peer Pressure -Separation/Divorce in Family
-Abuse/Neglect -Drugs/Alcohol Abuse by Student/Parent
-Moving Repeatedly -Negative Social Interactions
-Low Self Esteem -Lack of Academic Skills
-Lack of Friends -Financial Problems