School Board
District Administration Departments Board Building Directory Curriculum Finance Food Service Health Services Homeless Human Resources Maintenance More At Four Registration Security Special Education Student Development and Activities Technology Transportation Truancy
Skyward email Youth For Youth Frequently Used Links PARCC Recognition District History Professional Development
Are You Being Bullied? Camp Invention 2016 Links Skyward
Schools District Events (Calendar) District Sports Weekly Calendar Parent Resources Skyward Proportionate Share Meeting State Immunization Illinois Youth Survey PTA
21st Century Lunch Menu Parent University

Contact Us

1700 Jerome Lane
Cahokia, IL  62206

Barr, Jen
Director of Technology
Breckel, Victoria
Director of Special Education & Certified Personnel
Crum, Steve
Director of Custodians, Warehouse & Deliveries
Harvey, Arnett
Chief Financial Officer
Jackson, Faith
Director of Student Development and Activities
Mitchell, Tanya
Assistant Superintendent of Instruction
Ra-El, Gegi Mara
Director of Curriculum & Instruction
Ryan, Art
Schreckenberg, Ruth
Secretary to the Superintendent and Board of Education
Scurlark-Belt, Stephanie
Director of Non-Certified Personnel

District Administration

Cahokia School Unit School Board of District 187 and the Superintendent, through an active partnership with parents and community, will support educational excellence in which all students graduate and become responsible and competent decision-makers, while learning and growing from a rigorous curriculum within a caring environment that is fiscally sound, appropriately staffed, managed efficiently, and improving every year.


The Vision of the Cahokia Unit School Board and the Superintendent of District #187 is – that all students graduate and have sufficient skills, understandings and personal characteristics for learning, working and living fully, including:

  • Communication competency
  • The ability to apply problem-solving strategies both socially and mathematically
  • The ability to use technology for learning and living
  • The ability to respond maturely, respectfully and professionally in all appropriate situations that the community, staff and students experience ownership of, satisfaction with and responsibility for the Cahokia Unit School District, including:

                              * Participation in open and frank dialogue
* Approval and support of sound management


Art Ryan
618-332-3700 ext. 4704

Arnett Harvey
Chief Operating Officer
618-332-3700 ext. 4705

Tanya Mitchell
Assistant Superintendent of Instruction
618-332-3700 ext. 4712

Gegi Ra-El
Director of Curriculum
618-332-3700 ext. 4713

Vicki Breckel
Director of Special Education
618-332-3700 ext. 4718

Stephanie Scurlark-Belt
Director of Non-certified Personnel

618-332-3700 ext. 4778

Jen Barr
Director of Technology

Steve Crum
Director of Custodians, Warehouse and Deliveries

Faith Jackson
Director of Student Activities and Development
618-332-3700 ext. 4733

Dave Augustine
Director of Maintenance

Anthony Priest
Security Supervisor

Bernadette Wiggins
Truancy Supervisor

Byron Gettis

Athletic Director

Ruth Schreckenberg
Secretary to the Superintendent/CUSD187 Board of Education

618-332-3700 ext. 4704